City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

At Theatre Royal and Royal Concert Hall


Mirga Gražinyte-Tyla  conductor
Patricia Kopatchinskaja  violin

Debussy  Prelude à l’après-midi d’un faune
Bartók  Violin Concerto No. 1
Stravinsky  The Firebird (complete)

This magical concert brings together two forces of nature. The CBSO’s charismatic young Music Director, Mirga Gražinyte-Tyla, has been taking the orchestra to new heights, whilst the versatility of Moldovan violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja recently earned her the title of “Instrumentalist of the Year” from the Royal Philharmonic Society. Here she performs Bartók’s Rhapsodic First Violin Concerto, which features some of his most serenely beautiful music alongside his familiar feistiness. The first performance of Debussy’s Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune in Paris in 1894 sparked a musical revolution, rewriting the compositional rulebook. The following decade Stravinsky’s groundbreaking 1910 ballet, The Firebird, had just launched him spectacularly onto the world stage. The composer found rich inspiration in this romantic folk tale, armed with a massive orchestra that includes offstage brass and an army of percussion, he created a dazzling score to define the new century. This rare opportunity to hear the complete ballet score, in all its kaleidoscopic glory, offers a spellbinding experience.

Free pre-concert talk, 6.30pm in the auditorium: Professor Robert Adlington on Stravinsky’s Firebird.

This concert is followed by one of our series of After Hours events. For more details click here.

Photo credit: Frans Jansen

Theatre Royal and Royal Concert Hall

Theatre Square
0115 989 5555

Similar upcoming events

NTU - Degree Show