Orchestra Of The Age Of Enlightenment

At Theatre Royal and Royal Concert Hall


J S Bach
Suite No. 1 in C major, BWV 1066
Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067
Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068
Suite No. 4 in D major, BWV 1069

Following their unforgettable performance of the complete Brandenburg Concertos in 2017 we’re thrilled to present another instalment of Bach’s greatest pieces from the convention-flouting Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment. In this case, it’s the four Orchestral Suites that Bach wrote between 1723 and 1739. Making use of contrasting instrumental combinations, and drawing on the then fashionable French tradition of multi-sectioned Overtures, Bach created an irresistible set of airs and dances, ranging from solo strings to choirs of oboes and trumpets. Highlights include the high-flying flute of Suite No. 2 and the sublime “Air on the G String” from the Suite No. 3, which remains one of the most hummable tunes ever committed to manuscript.

Theatre Royal and Royal Concert Hall

Theatre Square
0115 989 5555

Similar upcoming events

NTU - Degree Show