Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

At Theatre Royal and Royal Concert Hall


Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider  violin/conductor

Beethoven  Violin Concerto
Tchaikovsky  Symphony No. 6 ‘Pathétique’

Acclaimed as both conductor and soloist, Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider brings his twin talents to this powerful Romantic programme, beginning with Beethoven’s enduringly popular Violin Concerto. Written during one of his most creative periods, its long-reaching melodic lines treat the soloist as a co-creator in its grand design. After the drama of the symphonically-scaled first movement, Beethoven gives us a serene slow movement before a buoyant rondo dances its way to the finish. Tchaikovsky’s untimely death, only ten days after conducting the premiere of the “Pathétique”, has focused attention on the story that lies behind the Symphony’s warring emotions. The portentous opening – a brooding bassoon solo – heralds a gripping musical narrative that veers from sighing melodies to shattering outbursts. Tchaikovsky provides some respite in a wistful waltz and a swaggering march, but the extraordinary, heart-wrenching finale is as overwhelming as it gets.

Free pre-concert talk, 6.30pm in the auditorium: Tim Jones on Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6.

Theatre Royal and Royal Concert Hall

Theatre Square
0115 989 5555

Similar upcoming events

100 covers book