Sir Mark Elder conductor
James Ehnes violin

Finzi The Fall of the Leaf
Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1
Elgar Symphony No. 1

Nottingham welcomes Canadian musical royalty when virtuoso violinist James Ehnes makes his debut in the city. Armed with dazzling technique and breathtaking lyricism, he received the prestigious Royal Philharmonic Society Instrumentalist Award in 2017. For his first visit he’ll be playing Bruch’s romantic First Violin Concerto, whose blend of high drama and soaring expression have made it a mainstay of concert halls worldwide. Bruch’s masterpiece is bookended by two classic English works, both premiered by the Hallé, and a perfect fit for the orchestra’s partnership with Sir Mark Elder.

Gerald Finzi’s The Fall of the Leaf was inspired by a piece in the Fitzwilliam Virginal Book and displays the wistfulness that tinges his pastoral soundworld. Elgar’s First Symphony shares some of Finzi’s poignancy, but its majestic sweep also projects the confidence of the Edwardian age and a composer at the height of his powers. Its dedicatee, the Hallé’s conductor Hans Richter, proclaimed it ‘the greatest symphony of modern times’.

Theatre Royal and Royal Concert Hall

Theatre Square
0115 989 5555

Similar upcoming events

Jay Rayner